Skip to content

Make A Report

TRAFFIC REPORTS

Serious Collisions, Self-Reports, and Complaints

If you are in a car collision involving any of the following, you must contact law enforcement to submit a crash report.

Please stay at the scene and call (850) 606-5800, or dial 9-1-1 for emergencies.

  • A crash with injury
  • A crash with fatality
  • A hit and run crash
  • A DUI crash
  • A crash which requires a wrecker to remove the vehicle
  • A crash with a commercial motor vehicle
  • A crash where apparent damage is at least $500.00

If the accident does not meet the above listed criteria, you can fill out a self-report with Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Self-reports must be submitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the incident. Completed forms may be sent digitally via email, or hardcopies can be sent through the mail.

 

Did you know traffic crashes are most often a civil matter?

If the traffic accident does NOT involve one of the following:

  • A hit and run crash
  • A DUI crash
  • A crash with injury
  • A crash with fatality
  • A crash which requires a wrecker to remove the vehicle
  • A crash with a commercial motor vehicle
  • A crash where apparent damage is at least $500.00

If the traffic accident DOES involve one of the above, remain at scene of the accident and call (850) 606-5800, or dial 9-1-1 for emergencies.

Florida is a “no fault” state which means both parties involved in an accident report the accident to their auto insurance companies, REGARDLESS of who was at fault. (This is the purpose of PIP, Personal Injury Protection, required by Florida law.) The report required by auto insurance companies is the Florida Traffic Crash Report (HSMV 90010S) from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) Crash Report-90011s (flhsmv.gov). The parties involved in the traffic crash can file the report themselves online which allows (the involved parties) immediate access to a copy of the FLHSMV report to provide to their insurance company. Self-reports must be submitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicle within 10 days of the accident

Crime Report

If you are experiencing an emergency and need help immediately, dial 9-1-1. For non-emergencies, review options below.
To report a non-emergency incident that occurred within City of Tallahassee limits, you may:
  •                 Request a police officer to respond to your location
  •                 File a report in person at the Police Department
  •                 File a report online
Call the Tallahassee Police Department at (850) 891-4200 or (850) 891-4387 for a TPD Duty Officer or contact the CDA at (850) 606-5800.
To report a non-emergency incident that occurred in Leon County but outside the City of Tallahassee limits, you may:
  •                 Request a deputy to respond to your location
  •                 File a report in person at the Leon County Sheriff’s Office
  •                 File a report online
Call the Leon County Sheriff’s Office at (850) 606-3300 or (850) 606-3322 for a LCSO Duty Officer or contact the CDA at (850) 606-5800.

*If the incident you wish to report did not occur within the City of Tallahassee or Leon County, contact the law enforcement agency with jurisdictional authority where the incident occurred.*

*If the incident occurred on the interstate, contact the Florida Highway Patrol at (850) 245-7700 (dial #347 from a cellular phone or call the Tallahassee Florida Highway Patrol station at (850) 410-3046.

Are you seeking assistance with trespassing issues?

The best ways to help law enforcement help you with trespassing issues are to complete a “Blanket Trespass Warning Authorization” form and properly post your property.

For the definitive guide on Florida’s trespassing laws and proper posting, refer to Florida Statute 810.

If you live within the City of Tallahassee limits, please contact the Tallahassee Police Department. (850) 891-4200.

If you live in Leon County (outside city limits), please contact the Leon County Sheriff’s Office. (850) 606-3300.

If you are unsure whether the incident location is within the City of Tallahassee limits or within Leon County, utilize the Tallahassee-Leon County GIS Property Information Sheet found here TLCGIS Property Information Sheet (leoncountyfl.gov) . See below for assistance.

Property info sheet

Extra Patrol

To request Extra Patrol in the City of Tallahassee, you may do so here, TPD | Crime Prevention & Safety | Public Safety (talgov.com) , or by calling the TPD Community Relations Unit at 850-891-4251 or via email at tpdcp@talgov.com  . Extra Patrol is based on officer availability and response to active scenes.

To request Extra Patrol in the County, you may do so here, Extra patrol request (leoncountyso.com) , or by calling the LCSO Duty Office at 850-606-3300. Extra Patrol is based on deputy availability and response to active scenes.